High Country Hikers

 

 

 

 

Date/ Day

Description

Phone No.

Meet/ SRD

 

 

 

 

Aug 16- Thurs.

120 - Bad Fork - MTS  Moderate, 7.5 miles

698-6395

MRCVS/ $2.00

OR

178 - DuPont Sheep Mountain Trails  Easy/Moderate, 5.8 miles

685-2840

FM/$2.00

Aug 20- Mon.

74 - Shut-In Trail  Moderate, 6.2 miles

207-712-2515

MRCVS/ $2.00

OR

117 - Thrift Cove - Grassy Road Loop  Easy/ Moderate, 6.2 miles

891-9372

PRS/ $0.00

Aug 23- Thurs.

76 - Slate Rock - Pilot Cove  Moderate, 6 miles

248-924-5950

PRS/ $3.00

OR

7 - Big Creek Trail  Moderate, 6 miles

808-6267

MRCVS/ $2.00

Aug 27- Mon.

65 - Art Loeb - Pilot Mountain  Strenuous, 5 miles

694-1482

PRS/ $2.00

OR

138 - DuPont Waterfalls - Lake Imaging  Easy, 6.2 miles

808-7408

FM/ $2.00

Aug 30- Thurs.

62 - Barnett Branch to Club Gap  Moderate/Strenuous, 6.5 miles

248-924-5950

PRS/ $2.00

OR

504 - Dupont Mystery Hike  Easy, 5 miles

890-3160

FM/ $2.00

Sep 3- Mon.

15 - Cedar Rock Mtn Circle  Strenuous, 9 miles

240-604-5000

PRS/ $0.00

OR

25 - Daniel Ridge Loop -Farlow Gap Trail  Moderate, 7.5 miles

808-7408

PRS/ $2.00

Sep 6- Thurs.

165 - Graybeard Trail  Moderate/Strenuous, 7.6 miles

240-604-5000

CIA/ $4.00

OR

8 - DuPont-Reasonover Extended  Moderate, 7.5 miles

808-7408

FM/ $2.00

Sep 10- Mon.

82 - Tennent Mtn - Black Balsam  Strenuous, 7 miles

681-9596

PRS/ $3.00

OR

115 - MTS - Silver Mine Bald  Moderate, 6 miles

808-7408

PRS/ $3.00

Sep 13- Thurs.

163 - MTS Sams Knob Loop  Moderate/Strenuous, 7 miles

681-9596

PRS/ $3.00

OR

26 - MTS - Devil's Courthouse from Rt 215  Easy/Moderate, 4.5 miles

685-2840

PRS/ $3.00

Sep 17- Mon.

133 - Rumbling Bald-Eagle Rock-Party Rock   Strenuous, 8.5 miles

201-953-6316

ING/ $2.00

OR

71 - Ravencliff Falls Overlook  Easy/Moderate, 4.5 miles

696-2008

FM/ $3.00

Sep 20- Thurs.

49 - ** MTS Challenge ** - Walker Knob - Potato Knob  Strenuous, 5 miles

551 6046

CIA/ $5.00

OR

140 - Dupont Waterfalls Loop 2  Easy, 6.4 miles

696-2008

FM/ $2.00

Sep 24- Mon.

167 - Bent Creek - Stradley Mtn Loop  Moderate, 9.8 miles

239-777-4743

MRCVS/ $1.00

OR

35 - Green River - Bishop/Pulliam Creek Loop  Moderate, 5.6 miles

551-5940

FM/ $1.00

Sep 27- Thurs.

160 - ** MTS Challenge ** Beaver Dam Gap OL to Walnut Cove OL  Moderate, 7.5 miles

239-777-4743

MRCVS/ $2.00

OR

161 - Gorges SP-Auger Hole RD  Moderate, 7 miles

551-5940

BILO/ $2.00

Oct 1- Mon.

56 - MTS-Avery Creek - Pressley Cove  Strenuous, 8.5 miles

398-4164

PRS/ $1.00

OR

102 - Avery Creek-Twin Falls-Clawhammer  Moderate, 6.5 miles

607 216 2162

PRS/ $1.00

Oct 4- Thurs.

118 - Dupont-Stone Mtn. Loop Extended  Moderate/Strenuous, 8.5 miles

398-4164

FM/ $2.00

OR

89 - Trombatore Trail  Moderate, 5 miles

607 216 2162

ING/ $2.00

Oct 8- Mon.

10 - Little Pisgah Mtn  Moderate/Strenuous, 9 miles

595-4864

ING/ $2.00

OR

178 - DuPont Sheep Mountain Trails  Easy/Moderate, 5.8 miles

398-4164

FM/$2.00

Oct 11- Thurs.

50 - ** MTS Challenge ** Walker Knob - Craggy Picnic  Moderate/Strenuous, 8 miles

595-4864

CIA/ $5.00

OR

42 - MST Folk Art Center-Haw Creek Overlood  Moderate, 5.7 miles

685-2840

FM/ $2.00

Oct 15- Mon.

83 - Turkey Pen - Sharpy Mtn Loop  Moderate/Strenuous, 6.7 miles

891-9372

BBC/ $1.00

OR

104 - DuPont-Hickory Mountain  Easy/Moderate, 5.7 miles

685-2840

FM/ $2.00

Oct 18- Thurs.

78 - Spencer Branch - Trace Ridge  Moderate/Strenuous, 8 miles

891-9372

MRCVS/ $2.00

OR

124 - Dupont - Wintergreen Falls  Easy, 5.6 miles

398-4164

FM/ $3.00

Oct 22- Mon.

150 - ** MTS Challenge **  Black Balsam-Sam Knob Loop  Moderate, 9.2 miles

216-2360

PRS/ $3.00

OR

152 - Pisgah Ridge-Pink Beds  Moderate, 6.5 miles

551 6046

PRS/ $2.00

Oct 25- Thurs.

51 - MTS - Case Camp - Seniard Ridge  Moderate/Strenuous, 7.4 miles

248-924-5950

PRS/ $2.00

OR

21 - Dupont Cannon Creek Rock Quarry Trail  Easy, 5 miles

713-906-1149

FM/ $2.00

Oct 29- Mon.

164 - Hemphill Bald  Moderate/Strenuous, 10 miles

248-924-5950

CIA/ $6.00

OR

23 - Coontree - Bennett Gap (Short Loop)  Moderate, 4 miles

713-906-1149

PRS/ $0.00

Nov 1- Thurs.

14 - Cedar Rock - Over the Top  Strenuous, 8 miles

694-1482

PRS/ $0.00

OR

130 - MTS-Pressley Cove Loop  Moderate, 4.7 miles

435-0951

PRS/ $1.00

Nov 5- Mon.

111 - Art Loeb - Pilot Mountain South  Strenuous, 6.3 miles

694-1482

PRS/ $3.00

OR

93 - Dupont - Cedar Rock Mtn Loop  Easy/Moderate, 5.5 miles

435-0951

FM/ $2.00

Nov 8- Thurs.

77 - Soapstone Ridge  Moderate, 7 miles

808-7408

PRS/ $1.00

OR

101 - Pink Beds Loop  Easy, 5 miles

698-6395

PRS/ $1.00

Nov 12- Mon.

80 - Sycamore Cove Extended  Moderate, 8 miles

694-1482

PRS/ $0.00

OR

145 - Dupont-3 waterfalls, 3 Lakes  Easy, 6.5 miles

698-6395

FM/ $2.00

Nov 15- Thurs.

49 - ** MTS Challenge ** - Walker Knob - Potato Knob  Strenuous, 5 miles

216-1582

CIA/ $5.00

OR

7 - Big Creek Trail  Moderate, 6 miles

808-6267

MRCVS/ $2.00

Nov 19- Mon.

97 - FHT - Pinnacle Mtn  Moderate/Strenuous, 7.5 miles

891-6294

FM/ $4.00

OR

6 - Bracken Preserve Trail  Moderate, 5 miles

697-7452

BILO/ $0.00

Nov 22- Thurs.

#N/A

#N/A

#N/A

OR

#N/A

#N/A

#N/A

Nov 26- Mon.

27 - FHT - Bad Creek-Thompson River  Moderate, 7 miles

216-2360

BILO/ $4.00

OR

138 - DuPont Waterfalls - Lake Imaging  Easy, 6.2 miles

697-7452

FM/ $2.00

Nov 29- Thurs.

55 - ** MTS Challenge ** - Pisgah Ridge - Bucksprings  Moderate, 7.7 miles

891-6294

PRS/ $2.00

OR

149 - DuPont Turkey Knob, Briery Fork, Grassy Meadow  Easy/Moderate, 5.7 miles

808-6267

FM/ $0.00

Dec 3- Mon.

122 - Art Loeb - Gloucester Gap to Long Branch  Moderate/Strenuous, 9 miles

207-712-2515

PRS/ $2.00

OR

12 - Butter Gap - Long Branch  Moderate, 7.5 miles

808-2165

PRS/ $0.00

Dec 6- Thurs.

73 - Saluda Mountains Passage of the Palmetto  Moderate, 7.8 miles

207-712-2515

FM/ $2.00

OR

40 - John Rock  Moderate, 6 miles

808-2165

PRS/ $0.00

Dec 10- Mon.

34 - Green River - Pulliam Creek  Moderate, 6 miles

(219) 873-5206

FM/ $1.00

0

135 - Dupont Bridal Veil Loop  Moderate, 6.5 miles

698-6670

FM/ $2.00

Dec 13- Thurs.

41 - Jones Gap  Moderate, 9 miles

(219) 873-5206

FM/ $3.00

OR

175 - Paris Mt-Brissy Ridge-Reservoir  Easy, 6.5 miles

685-2840

FM/ $5.00

Dec 17- Mon.

13 - Caney Bottom - Cove Creek  Moderate, 5 miles

693-0319

PRS/ $1.00

OR

144 - Florence Nature Preserve   Moderate, 6.1 miles

698-6670

ING/ $4.00

Dec 20- Thurs.

19 - Coldspring - Jones Gap  Moderate/Strenuous, 6 miles

693-0319

FM/ $3.00

OR

129 - Dupont-Longside  Easy/Moderate, 5 miles

713-906-1149

FM/ $2.00

Dec 24- Mon.

#N/A

#N/A

#N/A

OR

#N/A

#N/A

#N/A

Dec 27- Thurs.

1 - Art Loeb-North Slope Loop  Moderate/Strenuous, 8 miles

891-9372

PRS/ $0.00

OR

30 - Green River Cove  Moderate, 7 miles

207-712-2515

FM/ $2.00

Dec 31- Mon.

 

 

 

OR

131 - Dupont Reasonver Nash Rambler  Easy, 6.5 miles

603-759-1381

FM/ $2.00

 

Hikes subject to change. Non-members should confirm hikes by calling numbers listed.

Faster paced harder hikes are listed first for each hike day.

See the tab, OTHER INFO, for additional information, including a description of abbreviations

and directions to meet-up locations.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Date/ Day

Hike No.

Description

Hike Leader

Phone No.

Meet/ SRD

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mar 6- Mon.

85

85 - Panthertown Valley  Moderate/Strenuous, 7.9 miles

Sallye Sanders

208-550-2070

BILO/ $4.00

OR

135

135 - Dupont Bridal Veil Loop  Moderate, 6.5 miles

Stan Patrie

698-6395

FM/ $2.00

Mar 9- Thurs.

12

12 - Butter Gap - Long Branch  Moderate, 7.5 miles

Dick DuRose

808-2165

PRS/ $0.00

OR

145

145 - Dupont-3 waterfalls, 3 Lakes  Easy, 6.5 miles

Stan Patrie

698-6395

FM/ $2.00

Mar 13- Mon.

18

18 - Coldspring - Bill Kimball  Strenuous, 5.4 miles

Larry Stewart

248-924-5950

FM/ $3.00

OR

40

40 - John Rock  Moderate, 6 miles

Dick DuRose

808-2165

PRS/ $0.00

Mar 16- Thurs.

24

24 - Cove Creek - Daniels Ridge  Moderate, 7 miles

Ed Fradley

877-2860

PRS/ $2.00

OR

123

123 - Dupont Waterfalls Loop  Moderate, 7.5 miles

Sharon Mendelsohn

398-4164

FM/ $2.00

Mar 20- Mon.

22

22 - Coontree - Bennett Gap (Long Loop)  Moderate/Strenuous, 6.5 miles

Jane Dupont

891-6294

PRS/ $0.00

OR

23

23 - Coontree - Bennett Gap (Short Loop)  Moderate, 4 miles

Claire Graves

505-1607

PRS/ $0.00

Mar 23- Thurs.

74

74 - Shut-In Trail  Moderate, 6.2 miles

Jim Graves

505-1607

MRFL/ $2.00

OR

68

68 - Pisgah Inn - Frying Pan  Moderate, 4 miles

Bob Thrower

828-551-4409

PRS/ $3.00

Mar 27- Mon.

65

65 - Art Loeb - Pilot Mountain  Strenuous, 5 miles

Gail Walter

201-953-6316

PRS/ $2.00

OR

64

64 - Pilot Cove Overlook  Moderate, 4 miles

Fred Wright

713-906-1149

PRS/ $3.00

Mar 30- Thurs.

76

76 - Slate Rock - Pilot Cove  Moderate, 6 miles

Mary Ann Stewart

248-924-5950

PRS/ $3.00

OR

124

124 - Dupont - Wintergreen Falls  Easy, 5.6 miles

Vicki Wright

713-906-1149

FM/ $3.00

Apr 3- Mon.

15

15 - Cedar Rock Mtn Circle  Strenuous, 9 miles

John Quinley

808-7408

PRS/ $0.00

OR

152

152 - Pisgah Ridge-Pink Beds  Moderate, 6.5 miles

Jan Tenderholt

685-2840

PRS/ $2.00

Apr 6- Thurs.

77

77 - Soapstone Ridge  Moderate, 7 miles

John Quinley

808-7408

PRS/ $1.00

OR

101

101 - Pink Beds Loop  Easy, 5 miles

Ed Stumpff

891-8645

PRS/ $1.00

Apr 10- Mon.

10

10 - Little Pisgah Mtn  Moderate/Strenuous, 9 miles

Hugh Reddish

595-4864

ING/ $2.00

OR

93

93 - Dupont - Cedar Rock Mtn Loop  Easy/Moderate, 5.5 miles

Tui Weinman

595-2263

FM/ $2.00

Apr 13- Thurs.

160

160 - ** MTS Challenge ** Beaver Dam Gap OL to Walnut Cove OL  Moderate, 7.5 miles

Jeanne Reno

551 6046

MRFL/ $2.00

OR

130

130 - MTS-Pressley Cove Loop  Moderate, 4.7 miles

Nancy Rader

435-0951

PRS/ $1.00

Apr 17- Mon.

49

49 – DuPont-Reasonover

Extended Moderate, 7.5 miles

Carol

Schobert

(219) 873-5206

FM/$2.00

OR

87

87 - ** MTS Challenge ** Yellowstone Creek - Skinny Dip Loop  Moderate, 4.5 miles

Bill Rader

435-0951

PRS/ $2.00

Apr 20- Thurs.

49

49 - ** MTS Challenge ** - Walker Knob - Potato Knob  Strenuous, 5 miles

Roby Burg

216-1582

MRFL/ $5.00

OR

21

21 - Dupont Cannon Creek Rock Quarry Trail  Easy, 5 miles

Ed Stumpff

891-8645

FM/ $2.00

Apr 24- Mon.

59

59 - Mt. Pisgah  Moderate/Strenuous, 5 miles

Bob Thrower

551-4409

PRS/$3.00

OR

53

53 - ** MTS Challenge ** Hwy 25 to Folk Art Center  Easy, 8 miles

Nancy Burg

216-2360

MRFL/ $2.00

Apr 27- Thurs.

8

52 - ** MTS Challenge ** Rattlesnake Lodge - Folk Art Center  Strenuous, 10 miles

Carol Schobert

(219) 873-5206

MRFL/ $4.00

OR

141

141 - Dupont-Reasonover Trail Loop  Easy, 5.5 miles

Zvi Weinman

595-2263

FM/ $2.00